Sixty Seconds with: M. T. Decker

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our newest Flash! Friday winner is M. T. Decker.  Read her winning story here, then take one minute to get to know her better.

1) What about the prompt inspired you to write your winning piece? The lighting from the far chamber made me think of a furnace, and I wanted something… not about a cave.

2) How long have you been writing flash? Since May 31st.

3) What do you like about flash? It forces you to cut to the core of the story, pick one thing, and focus on it.

4) What flash advice would you give other writers? Write. Write some more. Read. Take a look at Holly Lisle’s free 3 Week Flash Fiction class.

5) Who is a writer we should follow, and why? For short stories I’d recommend Frederic Brown and Edgar Allan Poe.

6) Do you participate in other flash contests, and which? Not yet.

7) What other forms do you write (novels, poetry, articles, etc)? Novels, serials, poetry/lyrics, user documentation, training manuals, fan fiction, music. 

8) What is/are your favorite genre(s) to write, and why? I’d have to say science fiction/fantasy, because it can be anything you imagine.  

9) Tell us about a WIP. Just one? I’m currently working on a supernatural/YA series that is the supernatural/YA story I wished I had when I was a YA (no vampires, werewolves, or creepy dolls named Chuck). 

10) How do you feel about dragons? I like the stories where the dragons aren’t what you think they are, which makes them fun to write.

2 thoughts on “Sixty Seconds with: M. T. Decker

  1. Thank you!

    I forgot to mention why I think you should read Fredric Brown and Edgar Allan Poe – Because they were masters of short stories, and could keep you guessing and still give you an amazing twist at the end.

    Like

Leave a comment