Just for Fun: This Isn’t Going to End Well, I Don’t Think

Hansel_and_gretel_by_Harbour

This Isn’t Going to End Well, I Don’t Think

By Rebekah Postupak

Written for Monday Mixer

She’d paid for a howling portent but wound up with giggling fandangle. A mail-ordered craven lackey netted her a purring kitten. The creaking steps? Gumdrops.

No matter how much Eloise spent, her hoped-for horrifying, threadbare manse insisted on turning itself into a homey cottage.

“This just won’t do,” Eloise raged. “I must frighten, not beguile, visitors.”

The house said nothing, though the merry fire in the hearth flushed slightly.

“I am a bad witch,” said Eloise. “BAD. WITCH. This means I do people ill. You know this.”

Refulgent soap bubbles goose-stepped enthusiastically across the counter. Eloise ignored them.

“How am I supposed to carry on my Very Important Work with this nonsense? Candycane doorposts?! A GINGERBREAD ROOF?”

Birds nattered softly, pecking at sugared window panes, and Eloise flung herself into a chair in despair. “Imbecile. You’ve made this the most ridiculous witch’s house ever. Who would take me seriously now??”

***

150 words, Overachiever Attempt

Inspired by this week’s Monday Mixer contest, using seven of the words listed within the 150 word count requirement: –

Things:         1) fandangle      2) portent      3) swain

Verbs:           1) natter            2) beguile      3) wallop

Adjectives:   1) threadbare   2) refulgent   3) craven

4 thoughts on “Just for Fun: This Isn’t Going to End Well, I Don’t Think

  1. Not only do I love the story, but I have a newfound respect for not only the exact word count, but being able to work the required words in. That is no easy feat. Well done!

Leave a Reply

