Warmup Wednesday!

Directions: Write a scene or an entire story of 100 words on the nose (no more, no fewer), inspired by this photograph. No judging. All fun. (Normal Flash! Friday guidelines regarding content apply.)
Don’t forget to add your Twitter handle & link to your blog, pretty please.

And a few words on how your week’s going, please! Are you NaNo’ing? 

 This week’s Warmup Wednesday challenge: include a surprise on the other side of the door.

Machu Picchu. CC3.0 photo.

Machu Picchu. CC2.5 Spain photo.

6 thoughts on “Warmup Wednesday!

  1. Skyward

    This dream I have, I am drifting up from the valley floor,
    free floating, wingless, like a cloud angel.
    This dream that haunts me, standing on the peak, opening the golden door,
    stepping forward into freefall, gliding down in a graceful tangle
    of air waves and lapping clouds, swooshing away, away,
    swooping down into pockets of cushiony air,
    knowing I am dying, barely breathing the thin breath of day,
    catching a last glimpse of who you were; were you there?

    This dream that stays with me: I am heavenly
    lifting my heart, my eyes, my first, my last memory.

    100 aberrations
    @billmelaterplea

    ah, bronchial dreams, you have been my week, my weak.

  2. Macchu Picchu

    “Here we are,” he huffed. “End of the trail”

    She pointed down over the valley. “Over there on the next mountain. Nobody will bother us there.”

    He chuckled. “The moment you put your potatoes in the ground, someone will want to dig them up.”

    “The gods have led us here.”

    “The gods led our ancestors to the place we ran from.”

    “We’ve survived.”

    “Who knows how long,” he sighed.

    “We can stop our enemies’ following us.”

    “How?

    She began stacking rocks. “Build a doorway. Here. Edge of nowhere.”

    He laughed. “What’s on the other side?”

    She shrugged, smirking. “Air.”
    ___
    @alanapaints

  3. Wonder Home at the Hilltop!

    Each one of us feel very highly of us. At least I did, on the last day of my Leh trip when I tried to chase the Holy Mountains till I lost my breath. I left all my companions behind. Seeking pride in my adventure I presumed for a minuscule that I am the only survivor on the hill top. Though the merriment could not sink in as I saw a little messenger of God waving towards me. Mocking at brazen ego, a city dweller bowed to the little boy who greeted him to one of the most articulate architectures in the world!

    @priyanka14
    https://priyankajainsite.wordpress.com/

  4. A Room with a Veiw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    “Behind that door is a very large living room with a great veiw.”

    “Really? Well, that’s exactly what we’re looking for.”

    “It’s as scenic as it comes.”

    “We want something that will connect us with nature.”

    “Oh, you’ll be connected.”

    “Like a bird!”

    “You will feel like you’re flying.”

    “It will be great for when you’re writing.

    “It’s perfect for a writer.”

    “I need inspiration.”

    “Look no further.”

    “I like to write without a net. So I want a place that reflects perfect abandon.”

    “Just sign here and it’s yours.”

    “Well…okay.”

    “Here’s the key.”

    “It looks like a feather.”

  5. @firdausp
    (100words)

    Stories

    “You’re yawning!” her star freckled face creased into a frown.

    “I’m sorry Sky, but you’ve told me this story a billion times,” an apologetic smile cracked his granite features.

    “No I haven’t, this had a different ending,” she retorted indignantly and flushed dawn.

    He yawned wider and got a lockjaw,”Uh-oh!”

    That day the Pied Piper led the children up the mountain. He chanced upon the cavernous opening,”Just my luck, I’ll hide the children in here for a few days.”

    “Where did all the children go?” Sky was worried.

    Easing his jaw Mountain smiled,” They now live in stories.”

    We have lovely weather. It’s called ‘Pink Winter'(if I translate it literally). After the scorching summer and hot humid monsoons, this is bliss. The week’s going fine. Nanowrimo taking up much of my time. Hope you all are having a wonderful week.

  6. @5ahara1
    100 words

    Was It The Nectar?

    “By the power vested in me by the moon and stars, I now pronounce you husband and wife.” The shaman’s final blessing, tossed about on the buffeting winds, was the last restraint from her rose petal lips. He beamed at his bride, their faces close.
    “A celebration,” the shaman continued, revealing a bottle of divine nectar from his inner robes. After they all finished drinking, the groom put the bottle down.
    He turned back, they were both gone.
    Instead he gazed upon a desert plain and a kangaroo, hopping quickly away,
    And a veil,
    carried aloft on the fierce wind.

Leave a Reply

