Sixty Seconds with: Brian Creek

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our newest Flash! Friday winner is — FINALLY!!! — first timer Brian Creek.  Read more about him at his VERY OWN WINNER’S PAGE (FINALLY!) here, and read his winning story here. But for now: you couldn’t do better than take one minute to get to know him better below.

1) What about The Arabian Nights inspired your winning piece? I imagined sitting down with my son and reading him one of these fantastical stories. The tale grew from there.

2) You’ve been writing flash a good while but this is your first win. What’s kept you going? The support of a fantastic group of fellow writers. And a ‘Flash Points’ article written last July by yourself.

3) What do you like about flash? As someone who struggles to finish projects, Flash allows me to complete a satisfying story before my attention – squirrel!

4) What flash advice would you give other writers? There are no rules to Flash (other than the word count). Experiment with themes, styles, and formats.

5) Who is a flash writer we should follow, and why? I wouldn’t feel right just picking one of the fantastic FlashDogs. Or David Shakes. I can’t decide. ☺

6) Do you participate in other flash contests, and which? Thursdays I write over at MicroBookends, while the weekend sees me writing or judging for Flash Frenzy.

7) What other forms do you write (novels, poetry, articles, etc)? I have a folder full of unfinished short stories, novellas, and novels that I wish I could focus on more. 

8) What is/are your favorite genre(s) to write, and why? I love using Sci-Fi to step out of the normal world and see ‘what else’ and ‘what if’.

9) Tell us about a WIP. CHRIS AND MIKE vs THE WORLD – I’m currently expanding my 100 word Micro Bookends entries into novella length adventures.

10) How do you feel about dragons? Always wanted one but we never had the room.

7 thoughts on “Sixty Seconds with: Brian Creek

  1. So happy to see Brian on the winners podium, I’ve enjoyed his stories week in and week out. You should also check out his stories in the Flashdogs anthologies, they are awesome! Congrats Brian 🙂

  2. Great interview, Brian! And I very much agree with you, Craig. Been saving the FlashDogs: Light & Dark stories for when life settles down in the next few months, and Brian’s stories are some of the ones I’m especially looking forward to! 🙂

  3. I’m in the same predicament. My silly house is made of wood, so my husband has put a strict ban on dragons. Sigh. I’m starting work on a burn-proof warehouse in our back yard. 😉 Congrats on your win; I’m so excited for you! 🙂

  4. So happy that you’ve won. Congratulations! Your interview is awesome, and love your Chris and Mike stories. Can’t wait to see more! 🙂

  5. Just read these comments. Determined not to leak from the eyes. You guys are the best and I’d be lucky to have met just one of you. An author couldn’t ask for a better group of writing buddies.

    Special thanks once again to that man Craig Anderson.

    And Tamara, once I finish CampNaNo tomorrow, I’m getting straight back into your book.

    Now lets’ get our game faces on; new contest is up in less than 12 hours.

Leave a Reply

