Sixty Seconds II with: Deb Foy

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our newest Flash! Friday winner is Deb Foy.  Read her winning story here. Note that this is her second win (yay Deb!!!) — read her first #SixtySeconds interview (from Jan 21) here. Then take another minute to get to know her still better below.

1) What about the prompts inspired your winning piece?  At one hour left, I had nothing. I didn’t want Man or Nature to be evil. Then I remembered Phillip.

2) Do you outline, or are you more of a discovery writer? I think of everything I don’t want to write. Ideas float by, I scratch those down, then there’s a story.

3) How would you describe your writing style? Friends have thrown the following at me: visceral, gritty, raw, lyrical, vivid, experimental. I love putting physiology under the microscope.

4) When did you begin writing fiction? At twelve. I had this grand seed of a book about a boy, witches, and wicked invaders. The usual. 😉 

5) Introduce us to a favorite character in one of your stories. Nadya Brennar. She’s loud, unedited, pees in the shower, and eats like teenage boy. Sometimes thoughtless but goodhearted and loyal.

6) What books have influenced your life the most? Til We Have Faces, Mere Christianity, The Hobbit, Jane Eyre, Series of Unfortunate Events, A Thousand Splendid Suns, Die Empty.

7) What are you currently reading?  All the Light We Cannot See. It’s a big book and I’m a slow reader. This could take a while….

8) How do you combat writer’s block? Cry. Crumple drafts. Latch onto a nice sounding sentence. Take it to bed. Make many little sentences with it. Done!

9) What’s the best writing advice you’ve ever been given? “To be a writer, you must write.” It sounds stupidly simple because it is. Doing it’s the hard part.

10) What do you admire most about dragons?  Their cleverness with riddles…

“Feed me and I live, yet give me a drink and I die. What am I?”  

3 thoughts on “Sixty Seconds II with: Deb Foy

Leave a Reply

