Sixty Seconds II with: Nancy Chenier

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our newest Flash! Friday winner is Nancy Chenier.  Read her winning story here. Note that this is her second win–read her first #SixtySeconds interview (from September 2014) here. Then take another minute to get to know her better below.

1) What about the prompts inspired your winning piece?  The isolation of the man on the rainy pavement contrasted with the hint of sun in the ghostly reflection of buildings.

2) Do you outline, or are you more of a discovery writer? For flash, I’ll usually free-write for discovery, then erect a bare 3-point outline to keep me focused.

3) How would you describe your writing style? Partaking in all the playground equipment in the speculative fiction park, occasionally wandering over to the straight fiction side of the sandbox.

4) When did you begin writing fiction? In elementary school. I started writing stories to make my younger brother giggle, then to keep from being bored in algebra.

5) Introduce us to a favorite character in one of your stories. My super-hero high school piece (for Crossed Genres) features a sidekick who makes up for a lack of superpowers by being inventive. I may have to give him his own story.

6) What books have influenced your life the most? ALL of them! The Ray Bradbury treasury, McCaffrey Dragonflight series, Clive Barker’s fabulist stuff, Ursula LeGuin. Reading Kameron Hurley’s Mirror Empire.

7) Back in September you said you were halfway through the 2nd draft of your middle grade fantasy. How’s that going? Still plugging away. Second drafts are so much harder for me. They take much more concentration than firsts (I have 10 NaNoWriMo “wins”).

8) How do you combat writer’s block? Switch to the notebook, give myself permission to writer utter garbage and scrawl myself to exhaustion. My notebooks are called “compost heaps” for a reason.

9) What’s the best writing advice you’ve ever been given?  Get involved in workshops for valuable skin-thickening. I spent the first part of my writerly life where my only (non-)critics were friends and family. 

10) What do you admire most about dragons? It would be easier to list the things I don’t admire about them.

Leave a Reply

