Sixty Seconds with: Steph Ellis

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our newest Flash! Friday winner is Steph Ellis. Be sure to check out her bio at her winner’s page! Read her winning story here, then take one minute to get to know her better.

1) What about the prompt inspired your winning piece?  The huge mouths.  They made me think of silent screams which triggered thoughts of the dentist (mine’s very nice btw).

2) How long have you been writing flash? Just over a year, and only regularly since I discovered this site.

3) What do you like about writing flash? Creating a whole story in so few words, I also love trying to come up with something completely unexpected.

4) What flash advice would you give other writers? Work on those ‘show don’t tell skills’ we’re always exhorted to follow.  Flash really exercises that particular muscle.

5) Who is a writer we should follow, and whyThat’s tough.  I would say any of the #Flashdogs community.  Such a high standard and so many original ideas.

6) Do you participate in other flash contests, and which? This one, Micro Bookends and I’ve just started Three Line Thursday; oh and 99Fiction – told you I was addicted.

7) What other forms do you write (novels, poetry, articles, etc)? Mainly short stories, some poetry, plus I’m half-way through a novel – which the flash fiction keeps interrupting!

8) What is/are your favorite genre(s) to write, and why? Dark fiction.  I tend not to be explicit but I love words that can create a chill, stir the imagination.

9) Tell us about a WIP.  I enjoy twisting nursery rhymes, some are on my website; I’d like to publish them – just for fun.

10) How do you feel about dragons? I was born in the year of the Dragon, my husband’s Welsh and our local was the Ddraig Goch.

Leave a Reply

