Sixty Seconds with: Grace Black

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our newest Flash! Friday winner is Grace Black. Be sure to check out her bio at her winner’s page! Read her winning story here, then take one minute to get to know her better.

1) What about the prompt inspired your winning piece?  The blurb on the depression era photographer and the photo with the horse, mingled with the crazy in my head.

2) How long have you been writing flash? Since 2013.

3) What do you like about writing flash? Less is more! As a wordy gal, it forces me to reevaluate what is necessary.

4) What flash advice would you give other writers? Write what moves you, how it feels, the way it tastes, then slash and edit to bare bones.

5) Who is a writer we should follow, and why@theinnerzone has a deft and descriptive hand when it comes to penning fiction. Her emotive writing evokes the senses. Read more here.

6) Do you participate in other flash contests, and which? Many, I jump around seeking inspiration but always wander back here to write. MicroBookends is another, new and fab! {Editor’s Note: David Borrowdale’s MicroBookends runs Thursdays; he provides the first and last words of your story. Check it out!}

7) What other forms do you write (novels, poetry, articles, etc)? Confessional poetry is my true love and I’m currently compiling a chapbook. I’ve also written three unpublished novels (they’re crap).

8) What is/are your favorite genre(s) to write, and why? Poetry and literary fiction with a romance slant, but I’m not a happily-ever-after gal. I enjoy my novels nostalgic, my poetry melancholic, and my food spicy (but you didn’t ask that, and I borrowed words from answers #2-4. Wordy, remember? Flash conundrum).

9) Tell us about a WIP.  Gearing up for NaNoWriMo with an idea I’ve had for over a year.

10) How do you feel about dragons? According to the Chinese Zodiac, I’m a Tiger and my best compatibility is with a dragon. Therefore they’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

