Sixty Seconds with: Todd Strader

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight Our newest Flash! Friday winner is Todd Strader.  Read his winning story here, then (if you’re brave enough) take one minute to get to know him better. (And yes, I know it’s more than 20 words per answer, but I was laughing too hard to count properly.)

1) What about the prompt inspired you to write your winning piece? I just stopped by to take a peek at the prompt. Then I saw the tricorns… why did those fall out of style?

2) How long have you been writing flash? The end of last year. I had just finished the gazillionth revision of Snow Bloom and was not ready to engage another big project.

3) What do you like about flash? I like that you can capture a compelling moment within what would be a broader story without having to write the whole story.

4) What flash advice would you give other writers? Me? Give advice? Well… um… look for iconic symbols, short turns of phrase that speak volumes because of our shared collective consciousness, and try not to use two words in a sentence that mean the same thing, like “shared” and “collective.”

5) Who is a writer we should follow, and why? The whole community of writers at Flash! Friday. Rumor is they are the best and, well, they are known associates of dragons.

6) Do you participate in other flash contests, and which? Not as yet. I have re-engaged on some larger works which, along with my collection of jobs, doesn’t leave a lot of time.

7) What other forms do you write (novels, poetry, articles, etc)? I am all over the place (I know, bad for branding). In fiction: The Light Caster Chronicles, a YA supernatural, good vs. evil, demon hunting novel; and Deep Clover Clan, a traditional high fantasy about a clan of wood elves. I have a number of picture books just in need of illustration including one parody (not for young children) called Piranha Llama. Last year I finished a Christmas book extending the Wenceslas story. In non-fiction I have some spiritual books in the works, Sacred Spaces and Quiet Places is underway, and A Constant Turning, about being connected to God through myriad prayer types.  Got a little long-winded, sorry.

8) What is/are your favorite genre(s) to write, and why? Christmas. Is Christmas a genre? I love Christmas.  

9) Tell us about a WIP. I have a children’s bedtime poem, Spirits at Night, I hope to indie-publish for Christmas. I am also doing a takeoff on The Red Badge of Courage in a diesel-punk setting. And Sacred Spaces and Quiet Places is a guide to regional places for solitude and tranquility. Did you say one?

10) How do you feel about dragons? When I was in sixth grade I wrote a story about a dragon. I even drew a decent looking picture… skip forward to my family in the theater watching a preview for the second Hobbit movie. Me: “They showed the dragon! Did you see that?  We finally get to see the dragon!”  Not sure if that answers the question.

2 thoughts on “Sixty Seconds with: Todd Strader

  1. Funny. Enjoyed reading the interview, and I have already spent more than sixty seconds here. 🙂 I like the “all over the place” part. The one I can relate to. Enough with branding already!

Leave a Reply

