Sixty Seconds with: John Mark Miller

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our newest Flash! Friday winner is John Mark Miller. Read his winning story here. Then take one minute to get to know him better!  

1) What about the prompt inspired your winning piece? I was haunted by this woman’s face: peaceful, but heartbroken.  I couldn’t stop feeling that she had a powerful story.

2) How long have you been writing flash? This contest is my first real experience with flash fiction, and I’m officially hooked! 

3) What do you like about flash? The creative challenge!  It’s fun to do, and learning to be concise has strengthened my writing as a whole.

4) What flash advice would you give other writers? Flesh out a novel-length story.  Then choose your favorite scene from this “novel” and describe it in 150 words. 

5) Who is a writer we should follow, and why? Margaret Locke, a three-time Flash! Friday winner!  Her entries have grabbed my attention each and every week. 

6) Do you participate in other flash contests, and which? Not yet.  I tried a Mystery Flash Contest once, but hated it.  Writing good mystery is definitely not my forte! 

7) What other forms do you write (novels, poetry, articles, etc)? )? I mostly write articles on culture and faith, but secretly fantasize about surprising everyone and becoming a bestselling novelist! 

8) What is/are your favorite genre(s) to write, and why? I love writing Christian Fantasy/Adventure tales the most – they’re an exciting ride, and are able to teach powerful, life-changing principles!

9) Tell us about a WIP. My wife and I are joining forces on a devotional, and I’ve begun dreaming up a novel entitled Heroic.

10) How do you feel about dragons? Dragons terrify me… which is exactly why I pick up any book that features one!

 

16 thoughts on “Sixty Seconds with: John Mark Miller

  1. Wow…mystery is hard enough to pull off in longer forms; I can’t imagine trying to write a mystery flash… Hmmmm, I may have to take that challenge sometime! 🙂

    • You might love it, but it made me want to bash my head against a wall! The crazy part is, I love reading mystery stories (Agatha Christie, anyone?)… it just turns out that I can’t write them!

      • Just because you can’t write them yet, doesn’t mean you can’t write them. Flash is wicked hard under the most basic of circumstances, let alone stretching your comfort zone. One failed attempt does not a impossibility make. (Mystery is certainly not my genre, nor humor; that doesn’t mean I don’t persist in trying and learning. That’s my favorite thing about flash – you can experiment with so many different things!) 🙂

      • HAHAHA! I just re-read my comment and was worried that I sounded supercilious. :/ Again, humor is not my strong point… Perhaps I should have said, “One failed attempt does not an impossibility make – good thing! Because all flash is something I still struggle with every time.” Writing small does not come easily to me (ask Rebekah, I whine at her ALL THE TIME about it…It’s a wonder she hasn’t eaten me yet… 😉 )

Leave a Reply

