Sixty Seconds with: Cindy Vaskova

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our newest Flash! Friday winner is Cindy Vaskova.  Read her winning story here, then take one minute to get to know her better.

1) What about the prompt inspired you to write your winning piece?  The repetitiveness that surged from the construction, it just had me thinking horror and mental experiments.

2) How long have you been writing flash? Two years and some months now.

3) What do you like about flash? It’s a very tight fashion of writing; it just takes cleverness and vivid imagery to build a strong piece in lesser words. It’s brilliant fun.

4) What flash advice would you give other writers? Take a chance at it if you haven’t, it’s great fun and a priceless experience!

5) Who is a writer we should follow, and why? I’m bad at pointing out! Follow everyone, each person out there is an inspiration and communicating can be a great deal of help.

6) Do you participate in other flash contests, and which? Friday Flash – it’s my first experience with flash writing and the community has given me lots of advice.

7) What other forms do you write (novels, poetry, articles, etc)? I try a bit of everything. I try to be versatile in order to shape a style. I’ve got serials, some book reviews, shots at poetry and a comic book in the making.

8) What is/are your favorite genre(s) to write, and why? Oh, I love horror and sci-fi! The darker the genre is the more passionate I am about it. I love tormented characters and bizarre world creating. Dark fiction all the way.

9) Tell us about a WIP.  Two men working in the world of evaluating prized possessions suddenly find themselves in a district of town they’ve never heard of and one of them appears to be dead, though his ghostly like presence tends to argue. 

10) How do you feel about dragons?  I love them! I worship them, I want to pet them, though the latter might be not a good idea, in case I’m not a dragon tamer, which sadly I’m not.

Leave a Reply

