Sixty Seconds with: Rebecca Allred

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our newest Flash! Friday winner is Rebecca Allred.  Read her winning story here, then take one minute to get to know her better.

1) What about the prompt inspired you to write your winning piece?  I thought that for there to be something new, something else needed to be destroyed.

2) How long have you been writing flash? About 3 months.

3) What do you like about flash? I feel accomplished for finishing a work, and often my flash stories serve as seedlings for larger pieces of fiction.

4) What flash advice would you give other writers? Pay attention to language. You don’t have a lot of words to work with. Make every one count.

5) Who is a writer we should follow, and why? Gordon White. He’s a wonderful writer, and his feedback helped me get my first story (flash!) accepted for publication. 

6) Do you participate in other flash contests, and which? Race The Date and Finish That Thought. Also, I’m starting my own THIS SATURDAY! Y’all should come over and play.

7) What other forms do you write (novels, poetry, articles, etc)? I write short stories and I have a few wannabe novels in various states of disrepair.

8) What is/are your favorite genre(s) to write, and why? Horror – my mind wanders into dark alleys, always asking “what’s the worst that could happen?” I write down the answers.

9) Tell us about a WIP.  I’m working on a short story about a doctor forced to consider the virtues of alternative medicine when fighting disease. 

10) How do you feel about dragons? I love them. Growing up, my friends at school called me The Dragon Woman.

Leave a Reply

