Sixty Seconds II with: Margaret Locke

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our latest Flash! Friday winner (for her 2nd time) is Margaret Locke.  Read her winning story here, then take one minute to get to know her better. (Read her first interview here.)

1) What about the prompt inspired you to write your winning piece? I wondered about the sand behind the rider – what was it covering? Why was it there? Why was he alone?

2) Do you outline, or are you more of a discovery writer? For flash, both — sometimes I jot notes, sometimes I just write. I prefer outlining. But I’m pantsing it for NaNoWriMo!

3) How would you describe your writing style? Wordy. As in, I write a lot of words, and my characters speak a lot of words. 

4) When did you begin writing fiction? I wrote a few small stories as a teen, but wrote my first novel draft at 40. As in, last year. 

5) Introduce us to a favorite character in one of your stories. I’m rather fond of Ben Cooper, the computer scientist romance hero (!) from my first book. He’s, um, a bit like my husband.   

6) What books have influenced your life the most? Margaret Atwood‘s prose and poetry. And all the romance novels I’ve read since age 10 (sorry, mom). 

7) What are you currently reading? Katy Regnery’s By Proxy, Loretta Chase’s Lord of Scoundrels, Jennifer Kloester’s Georgette Heyer’s Regency World, and a friend’s novel draft. 

8) How do you combat writer’s blockNot well. I put off writing. Words usually come if I just type SOMETHING. Not good words, necessarily. But they come.   

9) What is the best writing advice you’ve ever been given? Sit your butt in the chair and write.

10) What do you admire most about dragons? How they have captured human imagination for centuries. Whether terror, greed, courage, desire, admiration, or nightmares, dragons inspire something in all of us.

One thought on “Sixty Seconds II with: Margaret Locke

Leave a Reply

