Sixty Seconds with: DragonsflyPoppy/Elizabeth Savory

REMINDER: THURSDAY OCT 31 is the deadline to apply as a judge for the first quarter of Year 2. Apply now!

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our newest Flash! Friday winner is DragonsflyPoppy, aka Elizabeth Savory.  Read her winning story here, then take one minute to get to know her better.

1) What about the prompt inspired you to write your winning piece? It got me thinking about how we communicate beyond just using words; how they often betray what we really feel.

2) How long have you been writing flash? About four/five months. Before then I hadn’t written creatively since school some *mumbles 18 years ago*…

3) What do you like about flash? It’s not overwhelming, it’s concise, and you can experiment.  And Flash! Friday is such a supportive environment to share.

4) What flash advice would you give other writers? I’m not sure I’m qualified to give advice! {{Editor’s Note: Nonsense! Your input is highly valued.}} I’ve learned such a lot just by reading other people’s stories.

5) Who is a writer we should follow, and why? There are too many to mention! Our host Rebekah’s writing is pretty awesome 🙂

6) Do you participate in other flash contests, and which? My daughter regularly asks me to tell her stories of faeries and dragons; she’s a shrewd listener – does that count?!!

7) What other forms do you write (novels, poetry, articles, etc)? (See above!)  I have dabbled with poetry and short stories, although I’m not sure they’re terribly good…

8) What is/are your favorite genre(s) to write, and why? I love observing people, exploring relationships, interactions and dynamics.

9) Tell us about a WIP. I have an idea taking shape for a novel but I’m yet to find sufficient time… and confidence!

10) How do you feel about dragons? LOVE them! I have a purple sparkly one who sits on the mantelpiece.

11 thoughts on “Sixty Seconds with: DragonsflyPoppy/Elizabeth Savory

  1. You’re a writer because you write, so start writing that novel! You’ll likely surprise yourself. That being said, as writers, we’re often our own worse critics, but you can’t let that little voice, which says, “I’m not good enough,” stop you from being what you are, a writer. Your winning story proves that. So, write on!

  2. I can relate to that confidence issue, but your writing is great! So glad you’ve joined us here. I’m gearing up for NaNoWriMo, in which my goal is to crank out a novel draft. Wanna join me? It doesn’t matter if we never show it to anyone – at least we’ll do it!

  3. WooHoo! Congratulations! And write that novel (We are not usually the best judge of our own work)! NaNoWriMo is GREAT for motivation! 🙂 (and this is an amazing, encouraging community, I totally agree! …even if I haven’t written for quite a few weeks…)

    • It is a truly amazing community – Rebekah should be so proud of what she has nurtured here. *Whispers* I don’t actually know what NaNoWriMo is, but if it is good for motivation I’m in! x

  4. Agree with everyone above me. Your story is beautiful. Flash! Friday is a great place to start putting your work out for others to see because there is so much support. My oldest son helped me write my Sixty Second answers. He read what I wrote then said “This is what you would say to me. Trust your own voice.”

  5. Congrats!!!

    I told my mom this one would most likely win, and I’m glad I was right.

    As I stated during the competition, the more I read this one the more I liked it. It said so much in so little space! YOU ROCKED IT!!!

Leave a Reply

