Sixty Seconds with: Margaret Locke

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our newest Flash! Friday winner is Margaret Locke.  Read her winning story here, then take one minute to get to know her better.

1) What about the prompt inspired you to write your winning piece? For some reason “glory days” immediately popped into my mind, and I wondered what the building’s heyday was like.

2) How long have you been writing flash? Six weeks! Unless you count attempts at humor on Facebook & Twitter.

3) What do you like about flash? I’m a very visual person, so the photo prompts immediately spark story wonderings. And minimal editing!

4) What flash advice would you give other writers? Go for it! It’s been an awesome experience–and it’s definitely teaching me to tone down my natural verbosity.

5) Who is a writer we should follow, and why? You want me to pick just ONE with so many talented writers out there? Follow them all–everyone’s a teacher.

6) Do you participate in other flash contests, and which? Nope. This one consumes me (in a wonderful way) every Friday. I need my other days to write/edit my book.

7) What other forms do you write (novels, poetry, articles, etc)? I’m currently editing my first romance novel, and that’s my genre of choice–I love romance, especially historical.

8) What is/are your favorite genre(s) to write, and why? Romance! I love happily ever afters. I love falling in love. I love wit and snark and humor. The best romances have that.

9) Tell us about a WIP. A startling revelation forces Cat Schreiber to reevaluate her world and the people in it. What is fact? What is fiction? And which–or whom–does she want more?

10) How do you feel about dragons? I love them in theory. In practice I have a feeling I’d make a tasty dragon snack.

One thought on “Sixty Seconds with: Margaret Locke

Leave a Reply

