Sixty Seconds: Sarah Cain Part Deux

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our newest Flash! Friday (two-time!) winner is Sarah Cain.  Read her winning story here, then take one minute to get to know her better.

1) What about the prompt inspired you to write your winning piece? Something about the goat struck me. It looked very sturdy and stalwart. Plus, I liked the name Glenn.

2) Do you outline, or are you more of a discovery writer? I seldom outline, so I guess I’m more of a discovery writer.

3) How would you describe your writing style?  I’d say my style is a bit dark and twisted. I definitely have a gallows sense of humor.

4) When did you begin writing fiction? I wrote my first story when I was 4. I’ve been at it ever since, though I’ve written non-fiction and one (un-published) novel until recently.

5) Introduce us to a favorite character in one of your stories. My favorite character is Danny Ryan, a suicidal reporter who is trying to discover the truth about the accident that killed his wife and child.

6) What books have influenced your life the most? Pride and Prejudice. Jane Eyre. The Haunting of Hill House. The Lord of the Rings. Dubliners. Ulysses. The Lottery. The Diamond in the Window.

7) What are you currently reading? This Town by Mark Leibovich. It’s non-fiction, but funny and scary. 

8) How do you combat writer’s block? I switch projects. If I get stuck on something, I move to something else. (I usually have two or three things going.)  

9) What is the best writing advice you’ve ever been given?  Read what you’ve written out loud. (You really catch mistakes that way.)

10) What do you admire most about dragons? In addition to being able to fly, dragons are wise. I believe they would have tremendous libraries and know how to mix a fine vodka martini.

Leave a Reply

