Sixty Seconds with: Danielle Cahill

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our newest Flash! Friday winner is Danielle Cahill.  Read her winning story here, then take one minute to get to know her better.

1) What about the prompt inspired you to write your winning piece? The guy seemed foolish, and I honestly felt sorry for that barrel – how did it feel about their watery fate?

2) How long have you been writing flash? Not that long, really.

3) What do you like about flash? The chance to explore other voices, realms, realities, and narrative types, yet still keeping each piece compelling with fewer words.

4) What flash advice would you give other writers? I don’t know if this helps, but for me it’s all about the voice and letting it dictate the journey.

5) Who is a writer we should follow, and why? I love Geraldine Brooks and Kate Morton for their incredible reads.

6) Do you participate in other flash contests, and which? No, though sometimes I contribute to Seth Snap’s Your Story series where I write a yarn for his beautiful images.

7) What other forms do you write (novels, poetry, articles, etc)? As a digital journalist I write articles, and I write short stories. I’m currently working on a novel called Momentarily. 

8) What is/are your favorite genre(s) to write, and why? It tends to be set in times gone by, perhaps because I love the classics, costume dramas, and sepia photography.  

9) Tell us about a WIP. Project Momentarily; I am releasing each chapter of my novel on Amazon, and blog readers then help direct the narrative. {{Editor’s note: for more details on this reader-directed storytelling project, see Danielle’s Flash! Friday page.)

10) How do you feel about dragons? Like roller coasters, they once terrified me, but now I think they are just misunderstood. The fire-breathing is amazing.

Leave a Reply

