Sixty Seconds with: Jeffrey Hollar

Ten answers to ten questions in 20 words or fewer. That’s less time than it takes to burn a match*.

(*Depending on the length of the match and your tolerance for burned fingers, obviously)

Matchlight

Our newest Flash! Friday winner is Jeffrey Hollar.  Read his winning story here, then take one minute to get to know him better.

1) What about the prompt inspired you to write your winning piece? I’m never quite sure what motivates me. Usually, an idea will just pop into my head & off we go.

2) How long have you been writing flash? I have been writing flash for almost exactly two years now.

3) What do you like about flash? I enjoy the almost surgical precision of making every single word earn its keep to satisfy the prompt requirements.

4) What flash advice would you give other writers? Develop your vocabulary any way you can. The more words you know, the better your choice of words to use.

5) Who is a writer we should follow, and why? There are just SO many talented people out there I couldn’t, in all fairness, single anyone out.

6) Do you participate in other flash contests, and which? I participate in almost every flash fiction challenge I can find.

7) What other forms do you write (novels, poetry, articles, etc)? I have written and do write poetry,short stories, anthologies and am working on some novella-length projects.

8) What is/are your favorite genre(s) to write, and why? I don’t really have a favorite. In the process of refining my skills, I’ve written in nearly every genre imaginable.

9) Tell us about a WIP. I have several WIPs right now…vampire anthology, paranormal private investigators, vampire western, fantasy.

10) How do you feel about dragons? Dragons are such a staple of fantasy writing one can’t help but hold them in high regard. I have a fantasy WIP with a dragon as a prominent character. {Editor’s Note: Answers expressing love of dragons are not held to the 20-word limit.}

Leave a Reply

